fashion focus: round.frame

I’ve been intrigued by round-frame sunnies since I watched Whoopi Goldberg in Sister Act when I was a little boy. I remember begging my mother to buy me a pair from the local Rite Aid. She got me red ones that I still have. A decade and a half later…

Picture 117…they’re back — this time on my female counterpart, Miss Olsen. So, again (as she once did for the Wayfarer), she’s brought back another vintage frame, this time, the round-frame Windsor. Not to start a war (because I, of course, have massive respect for her and admit sharing similar stylistic influences – beggars, rockers, stoners, etc.); but hell, I wore the ones my mom got me back junior year (’07). It wasn’t that I felt a trend churning; it was the simple fact that I had been home for Thanksgiving and my mom rekindled the flame when she found them in storage. Peep the pic of my mom and I below. Since then, it’s been much easier to find the babies all over town due to Mary-Kate’s heavy retail influence. To date I have 10 pair. The New York Times is hella late.

Presently, they’re still my favorite sunglasses. They fit my face better than most frames do. My favorite pairs are in black and yellow.

Picture 118

4 responses to “fashion focus: round.frame

  1. you’re fucking brilliant. i knew that. give us NEWS.

  2. Pingback: re.fill « SMOKE & MIRRORS

  3. Pingback: marios.x.mykita « SMOKE & MIRRORS

  4. Pingback: nyfw.coverage.2010 « SMOKE & MIRRORS

Leave a Reply

