the.blog.made.me.do.it.vol2


It’s been four months since posting my first mixtape (The Blog Made Me Do It, Vol. 1) on the blog. Since then, there’s been more than 400 downloads. I admit it’s nowhere near platinum or even gold (on a grand scale), but it did help the blog get some decent street cred and assisted in showcasing my musical musings.

Continuing the mixtape tradition, I’ve set out to top my last effort with newer artists, bigger sounds, and genre-defying ear candy. For the second installment of the heavy-hitting Blog Made Me Do It series, I’ve scoured my current favorites (not yet featured on the blog) and paired them with rehashed R&B crowd pleasers, hard-to-find DJ revamps, electro-mashups, and springtime dancehall. Like the first backyard barbecue of the season, the 26 track set provides for satisfying even the toughest of tastes. Too hip for Puff and the fam? Fine. I’ve got them mashed with The XX for your listening pleasure. Too white for Ghostface? No biggie. I’ve got him mixed atop Spoon, so, you won’t get too uncomfortable. The mixtape is meant for anyone and everyone under the sun. So stop being stupid, crack a 40, and SET IT OFF already! Consider it the soundtrack to your Spring. Remember where you heard it first & njoi. (click the link below to download the .zip file)

Smoke & Mirrors presents…
The Blog Made Me Do It, Vol. 2: Set It Off
An MH Mixtape

View the tracklist after the jump.

1 Internet Bitch (Intro) / Introduce Myself – Betta Half
2 The Ghostface of You Lingers – Spoon vs. Ghostface Killah*
3 Hold Yuh – Gyptian
4 Feel It On the South Side – Birdman vs. Washed Out*
5 We Are Mikey! We Are Rock! – The Cool Kids vs. Le Loup*
6 Battle Field – Freeway
7 Turnt Up – Chris Brown
8 Tipsy (Remix) – DJ Webstar, Serani & Jadakiss
9 Crazy Hold Out – Nicki Minaj vs. Washed Out*
10 Call Me 4 Dat Good – Just Brittany
11 We Get Around – Rock City
12 Velvet Replay – Iyaz vs. The Big Pink*
13 I Believe You Should Looka Here – Rich Boy vs. Simian Mobile Disco*
14 Cheerleader – Kristmas
15 Hit A Hata – Young Buck (Feat. Rich Boy)
16 Switch – Ciara
17 FeedToop – Janet Jackson vs. Cassius
18 Way I Feel / Buster (Interlude) – DJ Siik
19 Glock Busta – Papoose
20 What Have You Done For Me Last Night – DJ Nix (Feat. Janet Jackson)
21 What I Like – Stat Quo
22 Pianist Envy (Interlude) – Chilly Gonzales
23 It’s All About the Cystalibeths – Puff Daddy & The Family vs. The XX
24 Dance ‘Til Day (Dream Mix) – Jemex (Feat. Dean Gray)
25 Gangsta Luv (G-Mix) – Snoop Dogg (Feat. Mayer Hawthorne)
26 Make Love U Down – DJ Siik (Feat. INOJ)

I do not work for any artist featured. These tracks were not recorded for this compilation. I do not claim ownership for any track, only the collection. For promotional use only, support the artists. Cover image courtesy of Jackson Moad. *produced by The Hood Internet.
9 responses to “the.blog.made.me.do.it.vol2

  1. I just died and went to heaven. No really. Also, I LOVE YOU MARCUS. For the last two weeks I’ve been hearing “hold yuh” by gyptian and was killing myself for the name of it. I literally fell off my chair when I heard it come on. Dirty. I like it.

    I cannot give you enough praise and thanks. Much love baby.

  2. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  3. Pingback: not.from.concentrate « SMOKE & MIRRORS

  4. Pingback: riddim.roundup « SMOKE & MIRRORS

  5. Pingback: riddim.roundup « SMOKE & MIRRORS

  6. Pingback: kitti.minaj « SMOKE & MIRRORS

  7. Pingback: up.grade | SMOKE & MIRRORS

  8. Pingback: the.blog.made.me.do.it.vol.3 | SMOKE & MIRRORS

  9. Pingback: jamie.xx | SMOKE & MIRRORS

Leave a Reply

